REVIEWS AND AWARDS


powered by FreeFind

home

CATALOGUES
main
special offer
artist index
composer index
numerical index

ONLINE STORES
uk store home

usa store home

DIGITAL DOWNLOAD
digital music store

INFORMATION
using this site
about us
newsletter
news
future CDs
audio samples
awards/reviews
distributors
recording for us
terms and conditions

 

 

Naturally we want all our recordings to be of the highest quality and we are really pleased that they have been so well received by critics.  Each page featured in our on-line catalogue contains extracts from published reviews, and a link where for most releases you can read the full review (even criticism). To download our portfolio of review extracts (PDF) click here.

We should just mention in particular:

April 11, 2017: Piccoloworks (MSV 28562) is nominated for the German Record Critics Prize (New Music)

November 7, 2016: Pizzicato magazine of Luxembourg gives its rarely-offered 'Supersonic Award' to our new CD of MozArt Wind Serenades (DDA 25136)

December 8, 2015: 'Mersenne's Clavichord' by Terence Charlston (DDA 25134) is MusicWeb Recording of the Month for December.

December 5, 2015: End of year accolades - Gramophone magazine includes 'Mississippi Hornpipes (MSV 28545) in its annual Critics' Choice awards

April 2, 2015: Adding to a long list of superlative reviews, the recent world premiere recording of the Chamber Eroica (msvcd2008) is a MusicWeb Recording of the Month for April.

December 31, 2013: Another two discs of music by Michael Finnissy are recognised in the critics' year-end reflections: 'Unknown Ground' (msv 28536) in the American Record Guide Critic's Choice, and 'History of Photography in Sound' (msv 77501) as one the most notable releases of 2013 as chosen by Sequenza 21, the specialist contemporary music website.

December 12, 2013: Another Essential Recording accolade from Gramophone: this time, msvcd92011 is chosen as The ESSENTIAL Michael Finnissy recording.

December 12, 2013: Two of our CDs (quite an achievement in this crowded market) are included in MusicWeb's Recordings of the Year 2013, and both deservedly so:
DDA25102 Romantic Piano Trios (Trio Anima Mundi)
DDA25110 David Jennings Piano Music (James Willshire)

June 18, 2013: Gramophone Magazine, July 2013 issue, picks 'Natural Science (msv28526) as the ESSENTIAL recording of music by Christopher Fox

April 25, 2013: We've had several great reviews for the disc of David Jennings piano music. This CD has been given a RECOMMENDATION at Expedition Audio

April 12, 2013: International Record Review awards it's coveted 'Outstanding' award to the new Ronald Stevenson Piano Music set (dda21372)

November 1, 2012: Our CD of piano music by Charles Ives (metier msv92037) played by Philip Mead is named Top Choice over many other versions of the Ives Concord Sonata - one of the greatest and most iconic of all American compositions.

May 17, 2012: A track from Goldstone & Clemmow's performance of Holst's Planets Suite (Neptune- DDV24154) in its original piano duo version, is to be featured as a key theme in a new feature film('The First Aggregate') produced by a Welsh company for the Mongolian market. We do do seek out new frontiers! We hope to have the DVD in stock soon. Also, just out is the film 'Shining Night' - a portrait of composer Morten Lauridsen. It is stunning and a must-see for anyone even remotely interested in music or life in general. It's picking up awards and commendations everywhere, contains music from our CD 'Madrigali' (DDA25094) and is also available from us (HERE).

April 12, 2012: "Inward" (msv28517) is among the shortlisted nominations for Scottish Disc of the Year

February 2012: 'Delicias' (DDA25101) receives an 'Outstanding' rosette from International Record Review

Classic Fm magazine picks Anthony Goldstone's 'Unheard Mozart (DDA25051)' in its top ten Mozart CDs!!!! (July 2011)

Peter Sheppard Skaerved's imposing and awesome recording of works (MSV28521)by George Rochberg is Editor's Choice (July 2011) in Classical Music Magazine

Russian Piano Music volume 4 (Lyapunov, DDA25084) is one of MusicWeb's 'Records of the Year 2010'

'A Song without Words - the Legacy of Paul Taffanel' (DDA21371) - is Recording of the Month, November 2010, on MusicWeb. Flute Magazine says 'my recording of the year'. Even better, we have a SECOND 'Recording of the Month' from MusicWeb in November - this time for the Avison opus 5 & 7 Harpsichord Sonatas (DDA21215)

'The Piano at the Ballet; (DDA25073) is Disc of the Week (7 June 2010) on Lyric FM in the Irish Republic.

January 2010 - Our Historic Sound set of 78rpm recordings of the music of Peter Warlock (DDH27811) is Gramophone Magazine's "Reissue of the Month" ; also in BBC Music Magazine' 'Composer of the Month' feature on John Field, the recommended CD of his most famous works, the Nocturnes, is Joanna Leach's fine period instrument recital on Athene ATHCD1 (23001)

December 09 sees another of our CDs given 'Recording of the Month' status by MusicWeb - this time the phenomenal 'Greatest Hits of All Time' by Christopher Redgate (MSV28513)

October 09 - "Unaccompanied" by George Zacharias (DDA25074) is MusicWeb Recording of the Month and a Strad Gold Star recommendation. Also this month, Gramophone Magazine awards the 'Editor's Choice' award in the choral category to "Sacred Hearts, Secret Music" (DDA25077)

Another accolade for our best-selling CD, the Cello Concertos by John Garth (DDA25059) , which has been given the extreme honour of being inducted into the Classical Hall of Fame by America's premier reviews journal, 'Fanfare'.

Our disc of chamber music by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies ("Ave Maris Stella" by Gemini - Metier MSV28503) has been voted BEST CONTEMPORARY MUSIC CD of 2008 by The Sunday Times

In a review of the first four volumes of our series of Chisholm Piano Music, MusicWeb reviewer John France says "This is one of the musical discoveries and revelations of the twenty-first century"

Cello Diverse, DDA25068, is a Recording of the Month on MusicWeb for February 2009. Cellist Susanne Beer is compared very favourably to the legnedary Jacqueline du Pré.

The American Society for the Study of Early Modern Women has voted our CD of the music of Alessandro Grandi, performed by Musica Secreta (DDA25062), as "Best Arts and Media Project" for 2007.

Goldberg magazine, the premier European Early-music magazine, gives coveted "5-star" reviews to BOTH of our first two Avison CDs - the Geminiani Concertos (DDA21210) and the opus 9/10 set (DDA21211) - the latter is also Classic FM disc of the week, 3 August 2008.

For the third year running a Divine Art Historic Sound CD has been included in the Classic Record Collector Awards - this time "Moeran Collected 7rpm Recordings (DDH27808) is runner-up in the Compilation section of the 2007 Awards.

Our  CD of music by David Earl (DDA25060) is Joint Best New Piano CD of 2007 ( International Piano Magazine).

Anthony Hewitt's disc of Piano Sonatas by Liszt and Reubke is awarded the Gramophone magazine Gold "recommended" rosette, February 2008 (DDA25064)

Music by Milhaud (from Historic Sound DDH27807) has been chosen as the soundtrack for a forthcoming radio play to be broadcast by the BBC.

Anthony Goldstone's "Unheard Mozart" (DDA25051) is the Instrumental Disc of the Month in BBC Music Magazine, October 2007.

Our premiere recording of John Garth's Cello Concertos (DDA25059) is attracting much attention and was Disc of the Week on Classic FM "Drive" in the first week of October. The following week, this accolade was given to "Violin Songs" (DDA25063)

Sinae Lee's set of the complete piano music of Szymanowski (DDA21400) is described as " the most important collection ever to have been released of Szymanowski’s piano music." and is MusicWeb "Recording of the Month" for November 2006 - it also receives a "special recommendation" from Gramophone Magazine

Historic Sound CD DDH27806 (Coates & Moeran Violin Concertos) is voted runner-up (Concerto Recordings) In the 2006 Classic Record Collector awards.

Our historic recording of Mendelssohn's Elijah from 1930 (DDH27802) has been voted Best Choral CD of 2005 by Classic Record Collector magazine.

Anthony Goldstone's CD of gypsy-inspired piano music "Tzigane" is Editor's Choice for February 2006 in Pianist Magazine

Bernard d'Ascoli's recording of Chopin Nocturnes (ATH23201) is selected as "Editor's Choice" in The Gramophone, March 2006, and has also been chosen as the 2006 reader subscription offer by "Piano" magazine.

Musical Opinion has selected "Five-Fifteen" (DDA25034) as one of the six recommended CDs for Christmas 2005.

DDV24114, Teresa Cahill and Roger Vignoles' recital of Strauss and Rachmaninov songs, is MusicWeb's "Bargain of the Month" for February 2005

The Monckton Album (DDV24110) was one of the CDs included in Gramophone Magazine's "Critic's Choice" for 2004.

Raymond Clarke’s Copland piano recital (DDA25016) is Recording of the Month on MusicWeb (November 2003) and has been highly praised by critics in the UK, USA and Australia.

Repeating his earlier success, Raymond's latest disc "Piano Music for Children" (DDA25022) is also chosen as "Recording of the Month" by MusicWeb in March 2004!

“Elegy” - Our recording of John Tavener’s “Chant” for solo guitar (DDA25008) was chosen to feature in a new 2CD set issued by Naxos.  Called “Portrait of John Tavener”, the CD number is 8.558160-61.

Tchaikovsky: Symphony no 4/Romeo & Juliet etc (transcribed for four hands at one piano)  (DDA25020) The first review of this world première recording of Tchaikovsky works  drew such a glowing review that our online order form was buzzing every day for over a week.  A real winner.

Schubert: Piano Masterworks, vol. 2 (DDA21203) - the American magazine Fanfare's reviewer said of the Schubert D.959 sonata as performed by Anthony Goldstone that this was the finest performance he had ever heard.  And this comment was repeated by International Piano magazine.

 Sullivan:  HADDON HALL (DDA21201) - This recording has been awarded a rosette in the prestigious  Penguin Guide to Recommended CDs.

Swann: THE ISLES OF GREECE (DDA25010) - awarded "Record of the Month" in the "modern" category by Classic FM Magazine when it was issued in 2000.  If you haven't heard this yet, you are missing something very special. Donald Swann is remembered mostly for his comedy partnership with Michael Flanders but he was a gifted serious composer too and this suite based on Greek folk melodies is a treat.

For the second time, a track from our CD "Franciscan Road" (Pilgrims Star PPS27003) has been used as a TV programme theme - this time for the SKY TV series on the Pope's visit to the Holy Land.  We are very honoured by this prestigious connection.